The Official Website of Oscar Robertson Media Ventures

Left photo, Oscar Robertson joins fellow inductees Pedro Ferrándiz (coach, Spain), Ricardo González (player, Argentina) and Artenik Arabadjian (referee, Bulgaria) along with 2007 inductee Bill Russell at the EuroBasket finals in Katowice, Poland. Center: Bob Elphinston, FIBA President, shows The Big O some of the memorablia that will be on display at the FIBA Hall of Fame in Alcobendas (Madrid). Right: Tom Newell, one of four sons of the late Pete Newell, and The Big O with the enshrinement plaque at the FIBA Hall of Fame. (Center and right photos (c) Sonia Cañada.)
Oscar Robertson, Pete Newell, Kay Yow are
USA's 2009 Inductees into FIBA Hall of Fame

GENEVA, Switzerland: The International Basketball Federation (FIBA) inducted these 11 new members of the FIBA Hall of Fame as its Class of 2009. The enshrinement ceremonies took place September 20, 2009 in Katowice (Poland), coinciding with the Finals of the 2009 Eurobasket, and September 22 at the FIBA Hall of Fame in Alcobendas (Madrid, Spain).

Artenik Arabadjian, Referee, Bulgaria
(Ms.) Jacky Chazalon, Player, France
Pedro Ferrándiz, Coach, Spain
Ricardo González, Player, Argentina
Al Ramsay, Contributor, Australia
Oscar Robertson, Player, USA
Luis Martín, Contributor, Argentina
Pete Newell, Coach, USA
Ubiratan Pereira, Player, Brazil
Marcel Pfeuti, Referee, Switzerland
(Ms.) Kay Yow, Coach, USA

Oscar Robertson adds the FIBA Hall of Fame to his memberships in the Naismith Hall of Fame, the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame, the Olympic Hall of Fame, the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame, the Ohio Sports Hall of Fame, and the Wisconsin Sports Hall of Fame. He is the National Association of Basketball Coaches' "Player of the Century." His career achievements are documented elsewhere in this website.

Pete Newell, who died in November 2008 at the age of 93, is considered one of the greatest coaches in the history of the game. He won an NIT championship with the University of San Francisco; an NCAA championship with University of California (his teams defeated Oscar Robertson's University of Cincinnati Bearcats in the 1959 and 1960 Final Fours); and an Olympic gold medal, becoming the first coach to win all three titles. He retired from coaching in 1960 following his triumph with the U.S. Olympic team, co-captained by Oscar Robertson and Jerry West, often considered the greatest basketball team, amateur or professional, ever put together. After then serving as athletic director at Cal for eight years, he went on to become a highly successful general manager in the NBA and also founded the annual Big Man camp for centers and forwards, which he ran until his death.

Kay Yow, who coached at North Carolina State for 34 years, died in January 2009 at the age of 66. The Hall of Fame women's basketball coach compiled an overall 737-344 record in 38 years of coaching and earned fans with her decades-long fight against breast cancer. She coached the U.S. Olympic women's team to a gold medal in 1988; won four Atlantic Coast Conference tournament championships; earned 20 NCAA tournament bids; and reached the Final Four in 1998. She was inducted into the Naismith Hall of Fame in 2002. North Carolina State dedicated "Kay Yow Court" at Reynolds Coliseum in 2007.

For a great story on Oscar Robertson and his comments about being inducted, visit

About the FIBA Hall of Fame

The FIBA Hall of Fame was officially inaugurated on 1st March 2007. It was built with the help of the city of Alcobendas (Madrid, Spain) and upon the initiative of Mr. Pedro Ferrándiz, legendary coach of Real Madrid, founder and president of the Foundation that carries his name and member of the 2009 Class of the FIBA Hall of Fame.

On 12th September 2007, the first class was inducted in Alcobendas and included such famous names as Bill Russell, Dean Smith and Ann Meyers Drysdale (USA), Nikos Galis (Greece), Ms. Hortência Marcari (Brazil) and Ms. Uljana Semjonova (Latvia). Inductions take place every other year. Further information including the complete biographical sketches of all inductees can be found on

Last update: September 22, 2011

Contact UsPersonal AppearancesMedia Inquiries
© 2017 Oscar Robertson Media Ventures
Site Design & Content: Michael O'Daniel